Welcome to The Arts Society Costa del Sol

The Arts Society Costa del Sol – formerly Costa del Sol Decorative and Fine Arts Society (Dfas) –  was established in 1988, the first Society of its kind in Spain. We are part of a global network of 385 local Arts Societies.  Our objective is to further the enjoyment, knowledge and awareness of the Arts internationally and to stimulate interest in cultural heritage in Spain. Our society is friendly, active and thriving with our members representing 15 nationalities and who are passionate about the Arts in all its expressions.

Each year we hold a series of Lectures and Extra Lectures from October through to May covering a wide range of artistic and cultural interests. These lectures are given in English by accredited speakers from the UK. We also arrange many popular social events for our members and organise cultural travel in Spain and abroad. Being a member is not just a great way to learn, it’s a way of meeting likeminded people and making new friends. We welcome Visitors.

The Salon Varietés Theatre in Fuengirola is the venue for our main lectures, usually on the second Monday of the month,  and we meet in the Danish Club on the road to Mijas Pueblo for extra lectures 4-5 times per season. View Venues …

Join Our Mailing List

Join Mailing List
Sign up here to receive regular updates on our activities (lectures, travel events etc).
Join Mailing List

Become a Member

If you're interested in becoming a member then please visit our Membership page for full details.

Become a Patron

If you would like to become a Patron of a lecture, we would be happy to hear from you. Please email us at [email protected]


Hon President & Chairman
Billy Dawson

Extra Lecture Secretary
Maureen Davies

Hon Secretary
Linda Lees

Fred Harding

Vice Chairman, Social Events & Travel Secretary
Gudrun Lund-Andersen

Programme Secretary
Maggie Wilkinson

Membership Secretary
Mary Napthen

Committee Member leading volunteers
Jill Shardlow

Website and Communications
Amanda Giles


Sue Hampton – Art Appreciation Group
Email: [email protected]


Name Role Email Telephone/WhatsApp
Billy Dawson Hon President & Chairman [email protected] 677 838 278
Maureen Davies Extra Lecture Secretary [email protected] 630 747 311
Linda Lees Hon Secretary [email protected] ‭669 403 722‬
Fred Harding Treasurer [email protected] 666 235 695
Maggie Wilkinson Programme Secretary [email protected] 617 903 174
Mary Napthen Membership Secretary [email protected] 618 878 574
Gudrun Lund-Andersen Vice Chairman,Social Events & Travel Secretary [email protected] 952 660 106
 Amanda Giles Website & Communications [email protected] 610 965 071
Jill Shardlow Volunteers Organiser [email protected] 667 425 416